Commonwealth of Virginia Workers' Compensation Services
Monday, December 10, 2018
Total Program Management
Search this site.View the site map.

Reduce Claim Reporting Lag Time

Saturday, May 19, 2012 View Comments Comments (0)
This Tip for Teamwork has to do with timely reporting of claims.  Everything in the claim handling process flows from the First Report of Injury (FROI).  The Governor’s Executive Order 109 (10) requires claims to be reported to WCS within 10 days.  This is not only because the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act requires us to report claims to the Commission within 10 days, but also because the earlier we can begin to work on your claims, the better job we can do in making prompt compensability decisions, getting your employees the medical treatment they need, and involving our field nurses and vocational consultants quickly to facilitate early, safe return to work.  You can check your "lag time" statistics by running your "Workers' Compensation Lag Time Report" in Visual Report Studio on demand, or check your VRS inbox for the push report delivered during the first week of each month for the previous month.

Comments:

Log in to leave your own comments.
Return to ChannelList All Channels